Curacao, the cute island

Why cute? See. Who will not say that this is not cute?

http://www.hiltoncaribbean.com/destinations/curacao.html

Okay fine. If for you this is not cute, then its alright. But for me, this is cute. A colorful place yet simple one.

Curacao is a Lesser Antilles island country found in the Southern of Carribean sea.

When we say Lesser Antilles, it is the long arc of small islands in the Caribbean Sea extending in a north to south direction from the Virgin Islands to Grenada. A number of other islands – Trinidad and Tobago, off  the northeastern coast of Venezuela and the east-west island chain from Margarita Island to Aruba, off the northern coast of Venezuela.

http://www.geneticdisorders.info/article/280014479/unit-i-basic-geography-of-latin-america-the-caribbean-1-1-/

They have three official language: Dutch, English and Papiamentu, according to wiki, but you can also communicate with them using Spanish.

Papiamentu is most-widely spoken language in Carribean ABC islands and also derived from African and Portuguese language with some influence from Indigenous American, English, Dutch and Spanish language. (Wow. I suddenly wonder how this language sounds like. I guess you too?)

Their language is not complicated as I imagine! Hehe.

Willemstad is its capital city.

Also, as of this July 2017, Curacao is been recognized as “Top Cruise Destination in the Southern Carribean” according to Cruise Critics Cruiser’s Choice Destination Awards. It was base on the passengers’ experience when they visited the island and posted their comments on Cruise Critics website.

curacao-4

According to travel.usnews.com, here’s what you can do when you’re in Curacao

  • Scuba Diving
  • Queen Emma Pontoon Bridge or the Swinging Old lady, a floating pedestrian bridge that connects Willemstad’s two halves, Punda and Otrobanda.
  • Handelskade, the Colonial Dutch buildings painted in brilliant pinks, blues and yellows line the waters of St. Anna Bay. (the one I said that made the Curacao cute!)
  • Playa Lagun, near the northwestern town of Lagun.

You can read more of the tourist spot of Curacao here at travel.usnews.com

I can’t say a lot since  what only I know is about this island is base on internet. But when I already get the chance to go here, and I hope I will, I’ll make sure to tell everything.

***As always, if you have comments and suggestion about my post, feel free to send it to me. I don’t know everything so I might have some mistakes too. Let’s learn together! 🙂 ***

*** Resources: Britannica.com; hiltoncaribbean.com; geneticdisorder.info article***

Leave a comment